What Really Happened

25 February 2008 at 5:40 pm 2 comments

I always wanted my own prince… and I wanted him to be a royal. I guessed that would never happen, me being the daughter of a cow herder from a country where princes didn’t exist. But I guess if you take a chance like I did… well, anything could happen.

Once upon a time, so many years ago, I had finally made up my mind. I had travelled for months and I had found him. I would get him. He had just gotten back from his trip around the known world on a special mission, which was supposedly confidential but everyone knew he was looking for a princess to marry. Yes, his mother had specifically said princess. To my great joy and those of many others, he had been completely unsuccessful.

When his parents saw me enter, they were appalled. In those times of total peace and harmony, everyone and everything was allowed into the palace without a second glance. It was Fairytale times. His Majesty the King told the guards to give me blankets, for I was dripping wet. Her Majesty the Queen screamed for clothes to be brought to me. And His Majesty the Prince, their only son, who refused to marry anyone, the same one which every girl alive was madly in love with, just looked. Not in disgust, not in amazement, but with beautiful, amber, unreadable eyes.

I was given clothes, a blanket and hot soup to keep me warm. I felt uncomfortable. The whole Royal family was talking about me and wondering what to do with me. After what seemed like hours in which each minute lasted twenty days, His Majesty the King came to me and asked me who I was. I had been expecting that question, and my imagination was quick to answer.

“I’m a princess from the great kingdom of Entrania. I was travelling through a lonely road nearby, when I heard shouts. I looked out amazed, and I discovered my guards were lying on the ground, dying at a fast pace. I was suddenly grabbed, and most of my possessions stolen. I was just left with what I’m wearing at the moment. And then it started to rain, and I just needed to find shelter…” my voice trailed of. I tried to cry, but I couldn’t. Their Majesties however, must’ve mistaken me trying to sob as me trying to stop tears falling.

“I think she’s tired Mother,” spoke up His Majesty the Prince. His voice was so dreamy and beautiful. I wished time and again that this could last for ever. But it couldn’t; sooner or later I would be found out. “Why don’t you take her to a room where she can sleep?” Her Majesty the Queen agreed quickly, and thus I was taken to a room which had over fifty mattresses, all pilled on top of each other. Next to them, there was a metallic staircase. Apart from that and a long library which covered most of the room, the place where I’d be sleeping was bare. Light penetrated from a narrow, high window.

Tired, relieved and happy, for I had actually gotten in the palace, and I hadn’t been caught, yet, I started climbing those steep, metal steps. I was half way through, and already panting. I looked down… and then I saw it. I wish it had been His Majesty the Prince’s room. But it was a book. A book that saved my life. It’s title was: “Princess or Not? Find the Truth”. I decided to practise my reading, for my father, an educated man who loved nature, and specially cows, had taught me how to. I walked all the way down the steps, and up again, that time with the book.

I was up all night reading the book, and thus, when the sun was rising I knew much about how to be the perfect princess, and I learnt about the hard test Her Majesty the Queen has set for me. For, if you haven’t guessed, I’m the famous unnamed ‘Princess’ from the more famous story “The Princess and the Pea”. The story which spread at a fast rate, and became so well known that the pea was put in a museum, and as the man who once wrote it all down said, “it may still be seen, if no one has stolen it.”

Thus, you now know that I’m no princess, and I married the Prince who would have none but the perfect princess for his bride, but ended up with a simple cow herder’s daughter. I must admit the Queen did find out, but if it hadn’t been for her, I might’ve not been such a perfect ‘Princess’. And so, like it is common in Fairytale times, we lived happily ever after.

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , , , , , .

Sushi Go Round Caveman

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rodneyao  |  25 March 2008 at 10:39 am

    omg.. good work, man

    Reply
  • 2. Cambriaoz  |  5 April 2008 at 10:20 pm

    thats for sure, brother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Recent Posts

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 24,611 hits

