3rd April

3 April 2008 at 11:25 pm Leave a comment

This “diary” thing has turned out to be a bit more like a “bits n bobs” thing… I really should quit with the “categories”, but being SUCH an organized person, well, my sole nature dennies it :–) Anyway, along this diary there are some quotes, which I haven’t added in ages (well, it could be argued I haven’t posted in ages, but I’ll get better – what I always say… then I get wrapped up in school, and it’s all over!)

So… what made me look for quotes? Well, the thing was, it’s my dad’s birthday soon, and I’ve got NO idea what to get him… that could be an idea for a “how to” section. ANYWAY, I thought about a super cool, super modern elecrtical nose-hair (and ear-hair, for when it starts growing) tweezer… sadly, he doesn’t want that. Why not? It’s a GREAT idea. He DOES want rugby match tickets, but those are FAR too expensive for my budget (£10 max. , and that’s because he’s my dad, and, after all, I LOVE him… well, not really, but I pretend I do.) So I’m waiting for him to give me his top 5-10 (top 5= go to see rugby… men are SO typical). So I was looking for some funny quotes to put in his birthday card, and this is what I found:

Not sure he’ll appreciate this one… he’ll laugh, but he thinks I’m faar to innocent. I think it’s quite funny anyway, and I might add it to his birthday card… he might just let it pass. Personally I think birthdays and anniversaries are like menstrual cramps, a regular pain in the ass that’s somehow connected to birth. Hugh Elliott

Not sure how this is relevant to his birthday, and obviously it has NOTHING to do with HIS birthday (he’s not turning five…although usually acts like he is), but I still found it funny… the boy’s dad was a VERY intelligent and practical man… I love him!! lol                                                                                                                                                                                                         It was on my fifth birthday that Papa put his hand on my shoulder and said, ‘Remember, my son, if you ever need a helping hand, you’ll find one at the end of your arm.’ Sam Levenson

Cheesy. I know. But me and my dad have something in common (hard to believ, right? Especially after I told him we had NOTHING in common, which kinda hurt him… oh, and apart from what I’m going to say now, we also have similar/same type of humour) and that is we both enjoy to eat… so I thought well, somethin gcheesy, sweet on an old man’s birthday… perfect, right?  Plus, I’m the one whose likely to MAKE it, as I’m the only one who actuallly bakes at home :–o                                                                                                      There is nothing better than birthday cake. It’s like a slice of concentrated love with buttercream frosting. Takayuki Ikkaku, Arisa Hosaka and Toshihiro Kawabata, Animal Crossing: Wild World, 2005

I love quotes where I can say… SO true. It always happens at home, and this year, mum got really upset… who wouldn’t? My dad to her to eat to a pub, my sis ran off with some of her friends, and she didn’t recieve a presesnt… I gave her mine later in the afternoon, with a poem inside, and she totally forgave ME                                                                                      Marriage is the alliance of two people, one of whom never remembers birthdays and the other never forgets them. Ogden Nash

Another “so-true” quote. No more comments… just to read, laugh, enjoy, reflect, and, at last, agree… c’mon… you don’t? Why? Grown-ups ARE NOT wiser than kids… I should know… I’m a kid myself.                                                                                                                                            Grown-ups never understand anything for themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

 
This is one everyone agrees with… and seriously, as a teenage/kid, I think it’s not too good… is that what modern society thinks of us? looks like it :–(                                                       There was a time when we expected nothing of our children but obedience, as opposed to the present, when we expect everything of them but obedience. Anatole Broyard

So… my parents got along well with my great-grandparents to destroy my grandma and now I’M siding with MY granmother to destory my parents? makes complete sense to me… I just pity my children… I’m a hard nut to crack… lol                                                                                                                                                                                                    The reason grandparents and grandchildren get along so well is that they have a common enemy. Sam Levenson

A never-old classic. god, my quote comments are getting short… there’s only so much a gal can write. What can I say? everyone’s heard this one, and, trust me, it was a must-have… otherwise, what was the point in this kid/birthday funny/cynical quotes?                                                                                                                                                                                     Always be nice to your children because they are the ones who will choose your rest home. Phyllis Diller

Such a pity that youth can ONLY be appriciated when you’re already OLD and you can’t do any better than live with two dozen cats, complain about artharitis (which I’m going to get, because I keep clicking my nunckles so much.. WARNING! NEVER start clicking your nuckles… once you strat you can’t stop, and it’s going to get tough in old age for you with arthiritis… obviously, with the way medicine advances nowadays, yo unever know…) and the youth of today (who you wish you were). So give it up for another age-less classic… lol… AGE-less classic… do you get it? I know… hilarious… naa just joking… so here it is:                                                                                                                                                                        Youth is a wonderful thing. What a crime to waste it on children. George Bernard Shaw

This is one I found through looking for “cynical” quotes… I thought it smart, witty, and incredibly truthful… even though I wish I were mosre cynical, this quote made me see and realise something deep down I knew, but I wanted to keep hidden…. who wants to see the soft bit of a cynical man? No one… maybe that’s why 27 Dresses wasn’t very appealing (apart from the fact that it was a stupid, well-made,romantic film.                   “Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist” George Carlin quotes

To round off, I guess I could add something that came with a self-esteem test… it sounds cheesy, but we all have our cheesy side, and if you are just through a brake-up, or jaust feeling lonely late at night, this is quite a nice poem:

Your Welcome mat is upside-down,
and scuffed with dirt upon the ground.
There’s one guest you won’t inviteand prefer to keep out of sight.
Barred from warmth outside your door,afraid to knock, or to implore.
This stranger waits to be let inso that Love can grow again.

 

Wow. That IS a lot like me… maybe I should soften up a bit more on the outside… a friend said I’m like an onion: hard outside, deep, soft inside, and hard, hard core… she meant the layers.

Entry filed under: Diary, Quotes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Accidental Husband Review How to Start Your Own Blog/Website

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 24,610 hits

