How to Start Your Own Blog/Website

4 April 2008 at 10:34 am 1 comment

I’m not much of an example, but, as usual, I give good advise without actually following it. Plus, I did some research, and I found out some things…

Blog or Website?

If you’re good with HTML, websites are great, because you can get a very personalized look. However, you have to put A LOT of your time into making the website look good. I tried it, and well, I only know basic HTML (how to add an image, how to start a new paragraph, a new line and to add a link), so I don’t know the real experience. Most website places are more or less a rip-off, but that’s just my opinion. If you REALLY want it to be a website, I recommend Freewebs. Then, there’s the blog; just a few entries or articles… which is what I have… it might be a bit less organized, but I find it MUCH easier to choose, and all I have to do is add text… sometimes I even type it in word, because it has word check. For blogs, I (obviously) recommend WordPress because it’s easy to use, and you can have more than one blog (eg. Blog for personal stuff and another one for business/articles, etc.) Other blog sites include: Livejournal, Blogger, TheDiary, Mindsay, Blog, TypePad, MySpace. Remember! Take your time to choose your blog/website!

 

What look?

It obviously has to be a look YOU like and tells about how YOU feel/want to communicate. Then, it has to be a style that suit’s the way you write. For example, I write big blocks of text, so I want one, large column which will also fit my pictures.

Tips

Make your blog neat and attractive- you don’t want it to look messy or tacky

If you update your blog frequently, more people will return on a regular basis to read it. Establishing a reader base will motivate you to write more and in turn more people will read your posts.

Get into a routine of blogging. Make it part of your day. Soon, you will notice things during your day and think, “Hey, I’ll blog this.”

Personalize your blog. A pretty blog always catches the eye. Visit blogger.com for ideas; they have a list of their 10 most recently updated blogs.

Keep the posts interesting. Try to avoid focusing on things that most readers won’t find worthwhile (such as “I went to the mall today and saw Kelly.”) Write about things you noticed, thoughts you had, and feelings or ideas.

Spell check your writing before posting.

Don’t feel bogged down if no one visits your site for the first few months. As with communities this large, it will take some time for your blog to get noticed.

If you want a broad (international) readership, do not use too many abbreviations or slang terms that might not be easily understood by people who are not from your country/area.

Pictures are a great idea

For more info, click here.

Entry filed under: How to.... Tags: , , , , .

3rd April 6th April

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. How to Cure Writer’s Inspiration « FLY.  |  12 May 2008 at 9:42 pm

    […] This is generally a good idea because you can write in short poems, stories, images, etc., which all your friends can view, and it’s always exciting when you see the hits going up (eg. I was thrilled that one day I got around 353 hits!!) For more info, click here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 24,610 hits

